Getting around by Public Transport in Milan

Written by Posted in TRANSPORT


bandiera tedesca alemán bandiera spa 300x150 spagnolo español bandiera cinese300x150 中文 bandiera russa 300x150русский  bandiera italiana italiano



The public service in Milan is run by the Municipal Transport (ATM) and is characterized by four subway lines and a network of road and rail transport. Fares for buses, trams and metro are unified and you can buy tickets at bars, newsagents, tobacconists, ATM Point and vending machines. There are various types of tickets: tickets urban, intercity tickets, group tickets, tickets to Milan Fair and tickets for tourists. There are also different types of subscription: subscriptions urban, intercity subscriptions and subscriptions cumulative.

The Milan metropolitan area network is structured in four subway lines that connect various parts of the city quickly , allowing you to reach the center and the various stations, also from the hinterland , and represent the backbone of public transport. The four metro lines are: MM1 red line, green line MM2, MM3 line yellow and MM5 the lilac line. The red line MM1 is the first metro line built in Milan and has the largest number of stations, 38. From the stop Sesto 1° Maggio the line reaches Pagano from where it divides into two branches, one continues to Bisceglie and the other to Rho Fiera Milano. The green line MM2, with its 40.4 km is the longest line; from stations Abbiategrasso and Assago Milanofiori Forum you can cross the city and get to the suburban branches of Cologno North and Gessate. The yellow line MM3 from the terminus of Comasina crosses the city from north to south and arrives in San Donato. Finally, the lilac line MM5, newly built, fully automated and driverless, plug Bignami with the Garibaldi Railway Station and is expected to brief the completion of the same line with the other ten new stations to provide connectivity up to the San Siro Stadium.

Milano-Mappa metro

pdf download

Click here for download PDF

surface lines
Among the means on the surface there are four trolleybus lines, electric traction vehicle with an overhead power lines connected to the vehicle by two air-termination rods, which are active along the ring roads of the city and cover most of the route in dedicated lanes. Then there are a total of 80 urban bus lines and 33 long distance. During the weekend there is a night bus service which covers the time period from 00.00 to 06.00, following a route in lieu of metropolitan location.

The transport system in the area also includes the viability of rail lines with seventeen urban present. It is the modern version of the historic one. Currently on the tram network are still around a hundred models called "Type 1928", built between 1928 and 1932, which exhibit the characteristic wooden interiors.

For all information regarding the ATM you can:
- Please contact the toll-free number 800.80.81.81 active every day from 7.30 am to 7.30 pm
- Go to the ATM Point in the stations of the metropolitan: Duomo (cathedral) - Centrale - Cadorna - Garibaldi - Loreto - Romolo. The doors are open to the public from Monday to Saturday from 7.45 to 7.15 pm
- information on the portal

railway passing
The railway passing through Milan is a real railway line that connects the lines coming from the hinterland of Milan in the north-west with those coming from the east, south-east and the city center. This suburban railway is a local public transport in the metropolitan area and the underground stretch citizen interested stations Bovisa FN, Villapizzone, Certosa FS, Lancetti, Porta Garibaldi (interchange with MM2), Republica (interchange with MM3), Porta Venezia (interchange with MM1), Dateo, Porta Vittoria and Rogoredo (interchange with MM3). The network thus provides a link between the centers of the metropolitan area and the city of Milan, allowing faster connections between trains, the Milan subway and bus lines ATM.

There are ten suburban lines:

S1 Saronno-Lodi
S2 Seveso-Milano Rogoredo
S3 Saronno-Milano Cadorna
S4 Camnago-Lentate- Milano Cadorna
S5 Varese-Treviglio
S6 Novara-Pioltello (- Treviglio)
S8 Lecco-Milano Porta Garibaldi
S9 Saronno-Albairate-Vermezzo
S11 Chiasso-Milano Porta Garibaldi
S13 Milano Bovisa-Pavia

For more information:

mappa passante mezzi